Our Journal


The New Zealand Journal of Music Therapy (NZJMT) is an annual peer-reviewed publication for Music Therapists and other professionals interested in Music Therapy. 

The purpose of NZJMT is to extend the knowledge and understanding of Music Therapists and other professionals and to raise awareness of Music Therapy and related approaches in the wider community of health professionals.

The journal publishes only original material, except where reprint rights have been sought for an article of particular relevance to New Zealand practice. The NZJMT Handbook contains guidelines for both contributors and reviewers, to ensure a transparent process – please ensure you refer to the current edition of the handbook. 

Members of MThNZ receive a hard copy of the journal; the journal is available electronically via the EBSCO, RILM and Informit databases.

Guidelines for Submissions

Please download the NZJMT Handbook and Submission Cover Sheet. The usual closing date for submissions for the next issue is 1 April for publication in December. Please contact the Editor to negotiate other submission dates.


Journal submissions (electronic only) and general inquiries should be sent to the Editor.

Peer Reviewers

Expressions of interest from potential peer reviewers and book/resource reviewers are also welcome. For further information, contact the Editor.

Morva Croxson Prize for Emergent Writers

In honour of a significant pioneer of Music Therapy in New Zealand, Morva Croxson, we invite students and early career music therapists to submit an essay of 3500-5000 words on a topic of relevance to the contemporary NZ music therapy profession.

Closing date December 1st.


Hazel Barrett
Emily Langlois Hunt

We are pleased to announce the following 2019 Morva Croxson Prizes which will be published in the forthcoming NZJMT 18 (2020).

First place is awarded to Hazel Barrett for “Are community Music Therapy principles relevant to my work with large groups of older adults in a residential care facility? Findings from a student action research project”

Second prize is awarded to Emily Langlois Hunt for “Developing a sense of belonging: A case study on the use of peer inclusion to support a girl with selective mutism”

Special thanks to our esteemed panel of judges for 2019.

Prof Katrina Skewes McFerran (University of Melbourne), Dr Vini Olsen-Reeder (Te Kawa a Māui / School of Māori Studies, Victoria University of Wellington), Claire Molyneux (Anglia Ruskin University, UK, and NZ RMTh).

Ngā mihi nui ki a koutou katoa.